University of Eswatini

Current situation of the school

The University of Eswatini (or UNESWA; formerly known as the University of Swaziland, or UNISWA) is the national university of Eswatini.

It was established by act of parliament in 1982.The university developed from the University of Botswana, Lesotho and Swaziland (UBLS), formerly known as the University of Basutoland, Bechuanaland and Swaziland (UBBS), which was established in 1964.It became the University of Botswana and Swaziland when the Lesotho campus withdrew to form the National University of Lesotho on 20 October 1975, and then became an independent national university in 1982.

The university has eight faculties, which are located in the three campuses of the university. Luyengo campus houses the Agriculture and Consumer Sciences faculties, Mbabane campus is home to the faculty of Health Sciences, and Kwaluseni campus is the main campus. The University of Eswatini is mainly an undergraduate institution, offering bachelor's degrees. There are a few postgraduate programmes including two Ph.D. programmes.

The head of the university is the Chancellor, who is His Majesty King Mswati III. Its daily management is the responsibility of the Vice Chancellor, who is Professor Justice Thwala. UNISWA is home to research centers and institutes.The university also publishes research periodicals such as the UNISWA Research Journal of Agriculture, Science and Technology and the UNISWA Research Journal.